The Last Cinema in Paradise

For the past little while I’ve been working on a documentary about garage sale culture in Manitoba’s interlake. I’ve also been a bit stuck, wondering how to tell a compelling story about a place through one central theme.

This is the first documentary I’ve made. I was lucky to grow up with a filmmaker for a mother and a brother who was obsessed with making strange little movies. My brother and I had access to cameras and editing equipment most of our lives. He made more use of it than me but I always wanted to try to make something beautiful and interesting with a camera. It’s harder than I thought but also easier than I make it out to be.

I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries lately for inspiration. Here’s a great little doc about the tiny town of Honokaa, Hawaii and the People’s Theater. It’s simple, beautiful, and telling.

Leave a Reply

