Questions and answers

I don’t read Vanity Fair often. It’s a summer sort of read, a magazine that lives on coffee tables at cottages with covers graced by 90s celebrity and a thin layer of dust.

But I do read it occasionally and my favourite part is almost always the Proust Questionnaire on the very last page. This questionnaire is full up of hard hitters, questions that speak to character and make the celebrity take inventory of their life so far. I love these questionnaires. What people say and how they say it give such a glimpse into these people that I care about a little bit or not at all.

I read my horoscope this morning, like I do every morning, at the Globe and Mail because they are the most reliable — obviously.  I know it’s a horrible and useless habit but I’m addicted and find it slightly comforting that not everything that happens to me in is because of my own decisions, fate might exist which takes a bit of the weight of the world off. Today it said the following:

AQUARIUS (Jan. 21 – Feb. 19):
Be careful what you wish for over the next 24 hours because you may get more than you expected. You may decide later that you don’t want what you wished for after all – but you won’t be allowed to change your mind.

Vague and sound advice as usual — be careful what you wish for ‘cause it might come true. So today I’m taking inventory, figuring out the most apt wish for a lazy day by filling out some of the Proust Questionnaire.

I am very well aware that I am not one of cultures most prominent figures, but I thought it might be fun to answer these questions anyways. If anyone reads this (ther than my mother) it’s a bit indulgent but isn’t that the most marked characteristic of my generation? So indulge me.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Sitting in the front porch of my cottage during a thunderstorm — preferably with a good book, a cat, and a cocktail.

Which living person do you most admire?
Patti Smith

What is your favourite journey?
Road trips through the United States full up of small, strange towns.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Impatience

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Patience

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My Friends, and maybe my cat Zimmerman

When and where were you happiest?
For a month when I was 21 years old I lived in a tipi in New Zealand. I spent long days  playing chess, surfing, and working odd jobs and my nights dancing. Thinking back it almost seems like a dream.

What is your current state of mind?
Cloudy, I have a bit of a cold

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Finding a the most beautiful apartment and having some of the same close friends since I was five

If you could choose what to come back as, what would it be?
A blue whale

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Feeling trapped and alone in the company of others

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Humour, good conversation, and curiosity

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
Same as the above

What do you most value in your friends?
Their engagement and interest in real world things and subjects very different than my own

Who are your favorite writers?
Joan Didion (obvious and typical), Margaret Atwood, Ernest Hemmingway, Anais Nin, Micheal Ondaatje, Joseph Boyden and probably a few more that I forget at the moment

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?
Harry Potter

What is your motto?
Nothing good every happens after 2:30, but sometimes it does and that’s why I have trouble leaving parties.

One thought on “Questions and answers

Leave a Reply

